Training Plan

Discussion in 'Training Challenges' started by abigail83, Mar 5, 2013.

1. abigail83 New Member

Hi i am a student studying advanced animal behaviour and training, i have to train an animal of my choice to do a complex behaviour, or a chain of easy behaviours making one big complex one. I have access to my brothers dogs both are Cairn terriers one is still a puppy at 7 months old the other is just over 2, both are male.
    I was wondering if any of the members on here would have some ideas they could throw my way and help me get underway with a training plan.
    I have 4-5 months to perfect the routine or behaviour.

Thanx Abbey

2. Linda A Experienced Member

How complex (or fancy) do you want to get? You could teach the dog to open crate door, go in, close door and then lay down.
  3. abigail83 New Member

another classmate has trained her dog to put away toys on command with each toy having a specific name, so something on that level
    jeanniecogan likes this.
  4. Maura Well-Known Member

What do you think would be useful? I think putting toys away is a pretty good trick. So is putting socks in a drawer.

I've seen videos of dogs who ride a skateboard, it involves putting the front paws and one rear paw on the skateboard and the other rear paw pushing off until there is enough speed to coast.

Removing decorations from a Christmas tree and putting them in a box.

Bringing a towel to the beach, unfolding it, then going back and getting an umbrella and putting it up, then laying on the towel. If you do a utube search you can find all kinds of cool stuff.
  5. Mutt Experienced Member

Like asked above, do you have something in mind yourself?
    Perhaps a video of a trick you would like to teach (youtube is your best friend ;))?

Some tips for your training plan:
    - cut the trick in pieces. For example the beach trick described by Mauro: bringing towel - unfolding towel - getting a umbrella - putting a umbrella up - lie down on a towel.