Martingle Dog Collar?

Dlilly

Honored Member
My local animal shelter puts choke chains on all of their dogs when they are walked. I was thinking about raising money to buy some humane collars! I was thinking that martingle collars would probably be the best since they want a collar that the dog can't get out of.

I have no experience with this type of collar…. Do you think this is a good idea?

sara

Staff member
I have martingale collars on my dogs, though I dont use them for walking, for the most part. But I always put a back up martingale on all new fosters... I would hate for one to escape. but then they aren't allowed to pull on that collar, I use a harness and double ended lead, one end to the martingale, and one on the harness, for fosters. Oliver uses a halter and harness combo, and the Doxies just have harnesses.

Maybe raise money for double ended leads for them, so they can attach one end to a harness or flat collar, and one end to the choker, so the dog cant get away if it does slip the collar, but doesn't get strangled when pulling.

Chokers are the devil's spawn, and should NEVER be used on any dog.

tigerlily46514

Honored Member
I love your idea, Dilly!
I think martindale collars looks safe enough that no dog could pull out of it and run away.

or buy some various sized chest harnesses, are also a good way to walk a dog that you worry might escape his collar, too.

Or some of those mesh-vest thingies:
https://www.asseenontv.com/detail.php?p=300100&pa=sli

^i just grabbed one off of the net, there are many brands of such mesh vests. Also, if you are buying either martindales or mesh-harnesses,
i'd let shoppe owner know, you are buying these for humane society, see if you can get a price-break. Save receipt, this is tax deductible (charity).