Skye The Border Collie

ncsugrad54

I adopted Skye June 2013. She is just over 3 yrs old. She didn't know what toys were or how to catch. Now she knows lie down, shake, stickem up, nose, sit, stay, come, leave it, drop it, and how to catch a ball and frisbee. We are working on mastering bringing her leash to me, left, bow, and knowing toys by name. She just learned take it. I really want to learn how to get her to do some of the cool frisbee tricks I see in videos, but not sure how to teach them to her. I would love to learn how to teach her these.

I started training her on sheep, but it just costs too much for right now.

Attachments

southerngirl

Honored Member
Welcome. I love the color of Skye's coat. And kudos to you for rescuing. I'll explain later when I have time how to start frisbee.

kassidybc

Experienced Member
Welcome! Skye is beautiful! Are there any specific frisbee tricks you want to teach her? I may be able to tell you how to teach it(or someone else probably can) or I can direct you to a video...

ncsugrad54

Thanks guys!
I would like to teach her to jump into my arms, or jump against my chest and off my foot. I guess I first need to teach her to flip, but I don't know how to do that either. Oh and by the way, she doesn't like to be picked up, but I think with a good amt of work she will become ok with it as long as she gets treats.

I found a video that shows what I really like. Not sure if the link will work. It's a border collie named Zoe that does the tricks. Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

southerngirl

Honored Member
Here's the video I used to teach my dog to jump against my chest, I found it very helpful.
Make sure to take it slow and if your dog isn't getting something take a step back.

MaryK

Honored Member
Skye is gorgeous and thank you for rescuing her:D She's a quicker learner and I am sure will soon learn all the tricks you want her to know.:D