Training: "What do you think?"

Hello All,

I would really appreciate your input. About three weeks ago I started training "what do you think?" This is really just training the dog to shake no, as if they were shaking off water, on command. I have been clicking, treating and saying "good think" whenever Cannoli will shake herself off. The problem is, other than one time when she did it about 7 times in a row, she has not gotten the hang of it and gets upset when I request the behavior as if she doesn't know what I am asking for.

We use a handsignal of the outstretched hand going from left to right to signal that I want Cannoli to "think?" or "what do you think?" Ideally, she would shake as if shaking off water to tell everyone "no." I think this will be a cute trick to ask Cannoli a question, then say "what do you think," and having her shake no. However, the only way I have been able to train this is to try to click and treat immediately after she shakes herself off throughout the day. Sometimes, I don't have a treat ready and the timing is not good. Other times, I don't have the clicker ready and I just have to settle for saying "good think." Other times, my timing is great with the clicker and the treat. However, she is still not getting the idea.