Over Reactive German Shepherd Wins Award At Graduation.

MaryK

Honored Member
I have been attending, prior to starting as a trainee myself, a wonderful Positive Reinforcement Dog School here (the only one actually). At the school there is a beautiful, rescue German Shepherd, who due to a very bad breeder, was attacked by three adult German Shepherds whilst he was still a puppy. And of course, also having an under shot jaw, was about to be put down.

He was rescued by a wonderful lady who found that she had a somewhat over reactive German Shepherd on her hands. And as you can all well imagine, one small lady, one large dog, could spell disaster or end with the dog being deemed 'unmanageable' and sent to a Shelter. There his life expectancy would be extremely short. However, his wonderful owner, a crazy German Shepherd lover like myself, never gave up on Zac.

He was duly enrolled in Bronze Class, sporting his yellow lead, collar and bandana, to let the world know he 'needed his space' and, for the first few weeks, proceeded to almost drag his owner of her feet, they must have covered miles across the oval, he really could lunge.

But she, along with the wonderful trainers, never gave up on Zac.

Last Monday night was Graduation Night and all the love, patience and Positive Reinforcement Training paid off big time.

Zac, who has fallen in love with a Chinese Crested Dog and is good friends with a very quiet, well mannered Standard Poodle something no one expected to happen quite so quickly, added yet another achievement to his C.V. He - DRUM ROLL PLEASE - won the Award for the "Most Improved Dog" in his class!!!!!!!!! To say I applauded, as Zac and his owner proudly walked up to collect their Award, is understating it, I danced with joy! Felt very much like a surrogate Mom, I was so thrilled!:D Zac handled himself like a true Pro, no reactions, just a dignified acceptance wag of his tail as he graciously accepted his Award.