Thundershirt For Reactive Dog?

bordercollie05

Has anyone here tried the thundershirt for a dog with leash reactivity? My young one, Dan is so excitable. He pulls, is generally distracted, and is reactive towards dogs and anything he finds unusual or scary. We are working hard on focus exercises, positive reinforcement for good behavior, and trying to find low distraction environments. However we live downtown and any potty break has to happen in a high commotion environment. It is hard to even find behavior to reinforce sometimes. I have no experience with the thundershirt but I wonder if it would help calm him enough to do some more productive training. Any thoughts?

DevonW

My sister bought a Thunder shirt for her reactive dog and it didn't work at all in the beginning.

I did some reading and from what I understand is if you introduce the dog to the Thunder Shirt during positive situations the dog will start to associate the Thunder Shirt with a positive emotion. It also presses on several pressure points that are supposed to be calming. So when they come into contact with whatever makes them reactive the goal is that they're in a positive state of mind and will be less reactive. It still requires training and isn't a miracle cure to reactivity. It's just a tool.

jackienmutts

Honored Member