Should I Let Him Watch Them??

Dlilly

Honored Member
Rory wants to watch the ducks, turkeys, chickens, and goats through the fence. Should I let him? I haven't been letting him watch them, but he has seen them in the yard, I can't prevent him from seeing them. I'll be taking him to herding lessons sometime in the future, so I don't want to do anything that will make things harder for him.

MaryK

Honored Member
Is Rory just 'watching' or he is showing signs of 'wanting to herd them'?

If he's just watching, then I doubt he'll have any problems when he goes to learn herding.

One of my boys has 'herding' instincts (somewhere in his mixed 'pedigree' there's a herding breed) but when he sees ducks etc. on walks, he just watches them and that's about it.

I'm not an expert on herding so I am sure there will be many others here who know all about it who will help you.

Anneke

Honored Member
It all depends on how he watches them. Does he stare at them intensly?
If you would let him in with them, do you think he would chase them?
If he is relaxed while he watches, I don't see a problem. But if his bodylanguage is tense, you know he is thinking of chasing them.
Selfcontrole exercises and recall in front of these distractions might help a little;)

My two do the same thing, but I know they have the chase in mind when they do.
Especially Jinx... She once got away from me and went into a meadow full speed, to round up a flock of about 20-25 sheep. Being deaf to my recall:rolleyes: Very neatly she rounded them up and then stood there, not knowing what to do next. And then she came back to me.
So now I know she knows how to herd:D She's not getting off lead when there is lifestock around:whistle:

Evie

Experienced Member