Sasha Is Losing Her Fur!

alcastive

Hello everyone

My dog is losing her fur for the past month, what could be the problem ? i comb her fur everyday and take good care of her health give her a bath every 2 weeks since she lives at home and recently sleeping in my bed which i hated at first lol. So what could be the problem my clothes, bed and couch are full of furs now :S

Jean Cote

Administrator
Staff member
Hello Alacastive!

What do you mean by fur? Is your dog simply shedding? If so, that's absolutely normal. Hair always falls off my husky no matter what season it is. I'm pretty sure you aren't supposed to give you dog a bath so often, I think maximum once a month but I'm not an expert on this subject. I believe it is because of the oil in the skin... I'm sure someone else may be of more assistance.

tx_cowgirl

Honored Member
Staff member
As Jean said, shedding is normal. If you think she is shedding an abnormal amount, it could be a variety of things, but the most common could be allergies. This could be either to something in her environment, or it could be a food allergy. Common food allergies are wheat, corn, and soy. Consult with your vet to see if she has any allergies. Do not be fooled if they try to sell you on Science Diet. Even the prescription Science Diet is crap. Check out this site for good dog foods; I'm going to try to get a thread up on choosing a good dog food, not that I'm an expert either. A good dog food will help keep your dog's coat shiny and soft, and keep their skin healthy.

If she is actually LOSING her fur, has bare patches, the skin is dry, etc....could be ringworm, could be mange, or other things. Really the best thing to do is just going to be to take her to the vet. :)

Also, bathing as often as you are depends on the dog and the shampoo you are using. The vast majority of dogs need washed about once a month. Any more than that and it will definitely dry out the skin and coat.

Hope this helps.

alcastive