Positive Reinforcement Cat Training

brody_smom

Experienced Member
So my oldest daughter has moved out with a couple of roommates. (She cites Brody as being 70% of the reason she left, btw). Two weeks ago, they adopted a wee kitty, who is very sweet, naturally, but has a penchant for climbing things, like people's pant legs, and shredding things, like people's pant legs. Today she called and chatted a bit, then said she was off the the dollar store to pick up a spray bottle for Tom Hanks (her kitten). What for? I asked. To spray him in the face to stop him from climbing their legs and shredding their pants, among other things. They also give him a little flick on the nose if he attacks them or jumps up on the kitchen counters. I said it was a bad idea, but she insists "everyone I know says this is the best way to stop this behavior". I told her they are the same experts who would recommend a prong collar and a smack on the nose for Brody.

I have no experience with a cat like this, but I told her to use a cat carrier and put him in there when he does things they don't like. No yelling or screaming, just calmly take him from the situation and give him a time out. And never lure him up onto things or play with him in a way that rewards him for doing things they don't like. Find some treats that he really loves, and some great toys and reward him for playing nicely and sitting on the floor. I also told her that all the roommates and any visitors must do the same, no one is allowed to encourage the unwanted behavior by paying attention to it.

Have I missed anything? Has anyone done this with their cat successfully?

Pawbla

Experienced Member