Hello From Sweden

Amanda.G

My name is Amanda, I live in Sweden. Me and my boyfriend have a boxer male named Dan. I grew up with boxers in the family, so I'm used to dogs and can't imagine a life without one! I've also helped a Swedish dog trainer, who trained dogs for military work. Then I helped at a dog shelter in Ukraine and also studied a one month instructor course in Ukraine, This autumn I hope I'll get in to a school where I can study about dogs and then be able to work with them for a living. I'm tired of all punishment methods that are way too common in dog training. Especially after we bought Dan, he's afraid of pretty many things, have been poorly socialized and the breeder is well.... We bought Dan in Belarus when I studied Russian there and, the dog culture is very different there. She, and many other people wanted us to beat and choke Dan (you can't choke a dog to death according to her), let him pass out from choking and then leave him for 5-6 hours......... She knew a person who knew who to beat dogs, she knew where to hit the most effective..... Dan have improved much from clicker training, as soon as we bought him when he was 3 months we started to clicker train. He loves it and learn fast from it. I also believe that many problem with dogs can be solved with giving the dog sufficient amount of exercise. It's so sad about people who complain about that their dog is hyper, but they never do anything with it, and the dog just goes crazy from it. I also love interactive games, Dan also gets relaxed from it. The only problem is between my boyfriend and Dan, but that I'll start a separate thread about.

Here's a few pictures from our recent forest walk with Dan;

Ripleygirl

Experienced Member