Hello From Qld

muster

I am a retired high school teacher with a passion for dachshunds. My mini-dachshund is Steffi, she is 18 months old and we have been attending Obedience classes for about a year now. I hope to be ready to trial in Rally O in 2015. The main hold up is my handling skills :( Steffi does very well on most things but I am sure I must frustrate her at times. She is now in the highest class offered in our school so she is doing a bit of agility, so here she is doing her first jumps over a pool noodle (she has since moved on a bit and is now a confident jumper). Steffi started out very fearful of other dogs and people, since going to the school she is a lot calmer and has some favourite dogs.
One problem we are having is every now and then she just stops - ie we might be just approaching the last cone in the serpentine and she will just stop. I have no idea what it is I am doing wrong - I have been making sure I am not crossing into her path and I am looking at the cone ahead (rather than the one we are at) but we still have the occasional halt.(n)
.jump.jpg

kassidybc

Experienced Member
I am a retired high school teacher with a passion for dachshunds. My mini-dachshund is Steffi, she is 18 months old and we have been attending Obedience classes for about a year now. I hope to be ready to trial in Rally O in 2015. The main hold up is my handling skills :( Steffi does very well on most things but I am sure I must frustrate her at times. She is now in the highest class offered in our school so she is doing a bit of agility, so here she is doing her first jumps over a pool noodle (she has since moved on a bit and is now a confident jumper). Steffi started out very fearful of other dogs and people, since going to the school she is a lot calmer and has some favourite dogs.