Cues And Hand Signal

Mr-Remington

Experienced Member
So Remi had his first obedience class on monday. He was put in intermediate class, and we are working on the first steps to heel.

The way the trainer is teaching is to have the dog sit in front of us, and then say heel while luring him to your side and having him sit. Remi can do this fine, and we are working on taking steps. But I haven't added a cue yet.

My question is what do you guys name the cue for that? I've seen some people say 'left' and some say 'side' and others just say 'heel' What word and hand signal should I use for having him come and sit at my left side? And should I have the cue for sitting in front of me be 'front', so he knows to sit infront of me? I would love to eventually do some higher level of obedience classes later, and maybe do competitions. So I want cues that are easier for him.

I'm new to obedience work, outside of the basics, so please bare with me.

sara

Staff member
I use "get in" for the left side, and "get right" for the right side. I like to use more than one word, as often as possible, with Oliver. I really don't know why LOL. I've also heard people use "swing".

sara

Staff member
oh and my hand signal is me swinging my arm back then pointing straight down... though that has evolved for the most part into just a little circle with my finger and a point :)

Mr-Remington

Experienced Member
Is it a good to use a different word for having him sit in front of me, or should I just tell him sit? Will he be able to differentiate using a cue like 'front' to sit in front of me, and then use sit for any other time? Will he understand or will I just confuse him? :notworthy: I think I'm going to use a hand signal like yours, it seems like its simple.

2SpoiledAussies