Training Schedule Or Outline

brody_smom

Experienced Member
I am the kind of person who can learn to do things pretty well on my own if I have a good set of instructions. (I am the one who put together all of our Ikea furniture:LOL:) However, I am not good at flying by the seat of my pants. I like things laid out, step by step. So what I am wondering is, is there, somewhere, a schedule for dog training that "suggests" which behaviors to teach, in what order, and then for daily training sessions, how much time to spend on each behavior, whether it is new or being proofed. I have seen the Book of Training Levels, but this isn't specific enough for me. I need to know things like what a daily training session consists of. Up to now, I have been starting out by cycling through the basics, then moving to some of the newer stuff, but I am not sure if I should start anything else because he is not as quick as I would like him to be in responding to basic commands. I want to keep him challenged, not bored or frustrated. Is there maybe a good book that teaches how to plan training sessions?

Mutt

Experienced Member
I think it is impossible to make a schedule that applies to everybody, every dog or even every trick/session.

However maybe this can give you structure :) :

How you can define the tricks
- basics (sit/lie down/shake/wait) are handy to teach first as they are easy and therefore get your dog familiar with training/learning and sets him up for succes. They are the ones you will use in daily life and are actually handy to learn (that a dog knows bow is cute, but wait is more important).
- harder tricks, such as clean up you toys for instance, copcop, bow. These are tricks which don't really need fundaments and can be learned without previous behaviors (the basics don't really count as fundaments).