Puppy Tricks

sheridan

I'm new to the forum and am looking for tips on starting trick training with a baby Border Collie. She is 8 weeks old now and so her body and attention span limit our training time and tricks, but I'd like to get some ideas of games to play with her that are age appropriate.

Mesa is our 4th Border Collie. We are in Texas and use our dogs for herding cattle, sheep, and goats. My background is in schutzhund, agility, and flyball but I've only done limited trick training. (carry objects, close the gate/open the gate, bring me a particular named object - nothing fancy)

Sheri & Mesa

running_dog

Honored Member
Hi Sheri, Welcome to DTA!

A few suggestions of tricks to teach a puppy are paw, paw target, nose target (touch hand), spin (both directions), rollover, go around (an object) and go around (you), take a bow, leg weave, and speak. Of course you can teach (and have probably started teaching) down, sit, stand, baby stay, fun recall, loose leash basics and retrieve basics. For how to train each of them either search on this site or go to kikopup's free video list. If you have any questions about them just let us know.

As for games...
Our border collie lab pup loved playing tug and that meant we were able to teach him a brilliant "drop it" and "get it" very early on but I don't know whether it was very good for him to play tug as enthusiastically as he did :cautious:.
Recall games can be great with pups. One I really like is to call a pup (or dog) between two people, Sue Ailsby describes this really well in her first training level.

Do you use a clicker? If so it is a good idea to start with free shaping early on - as well as encouraging your dog to actively engage mentally with training it is also a great confidence builder because they are never wrong :cool:. If you don't already use a clicker I highly recommend trying one out :).