I've Never Introduced Myself!

srdogtrainer

Experienced Member
Okay so I joined DTA several years ago, Aug 28, 2009 to be exact, but I don't think I have ever officially introduced myself. So here goes.... I'm Sharon. I have a golden retriever named River, he is probably more commonly known around here, he has an intro page already.
I studied Animal Training, Behavior and Enrichment at Delaware Valley college and then I transferred to Bergin University of Canine Studies (in California) to study Service Dog Education.
I did a short internship at Canine Partners for Life (PA) and then moved to MA and interned with American Poodles At Work (APAW). I moved to Ma around the time I joined DTA. River was born around that time as well Aug. 22, 2009. I didn't meet him until 6 months later. He is from a breeder and is an amazing dog. I wanted to rescue a dog but was turned down for reasons they didn't care to mention so I finally gave up and went with a breeder and searched for a really nice dog and have not been disappointed. River is my very first dog and he has taught me a lot! Training is my hobby, my life and my passion. We enjoy trick training and advanced training. I currently teach dog training classes at PetSmart as well. I would love to get into Service dog training as a career some day.

Other then training I enjoy juggling, swimming, painting and drawing, being outside (with my dog) and photography.

You can find us on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/SullivanOlssen
There are videos of River, dogs I trained at APAW and BUCS.

srdogtrainer

Experienced Member
Thanks for the intro! It's interesting that you had all that education before you got your first dog. Did your family have dogs when you were growing up?
No, I never got a dog growing up. I begged for one, my parents aren't really dog people (they grew up with dogs that lived outside) and my sisters claim to not like dogs at all. I was lucky to get cats, but still not quite the same.