Hello There

Robert Stewart IV

Hello. My name is Robert, I'm 16 (17 in two weeks), and I am an upcoming trainer in Wichita Falls, Texas. I have been working at a dog kennel for nearly two years and learning training techniques from my boss, who is a former Marine dog handler.
Now, I mix his Marine Corps and positive reinforcement training (Which seems aggressive*, but is highly effective and not aggressive at all) with a subtler way of training. Whereas he uses one method, I have several I know.
Once I work a little more with training with my boss, I'm going to start training on my own, keeping all my training "styles" in mind. I think I would be successful if I adapted to the owner, along with the dog. Whereas the "aggressive" style might work for some, a more quiet person may work better with ways known from Victoria Stilwell (It's Me Or The Dog)
I am fascinated by the mind of the dog, which is why I choose to train. Working at the kennels, I have met several dogs. Some have been pains and others have been joys, but I love all of them.
Thank you for reading :)
*the "Aggressive" style does not harm the dog, just startles. The dog is not taught through pain. It's just the tone of the voice and actions that make this an "aggressive" style.

tigerlily46514

Honored Member
Welcome! Aggression is NOT needed, nor helpful, for any dog, by any human trainer.

Getting dogs to do what you want, can be done 100% effectively, without hurting the dog, scaring the dog, intimidating the dog, or any such nonsense.
YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE, please stick around, see how we do it here.

Almost everyone here, if not everyone here, is positive only, for all of our various types of dogs,
and all of us have various types of human personalities,
no one here is using force, intimidation, aggression, fear, punishment, or any such thing, ever, on any of our dogs,