Autism - Dog Training

ajh

I'm doing my homework on dog training. I am going to be getting my son a Service dog soon and am trying to educate myself as much as possible. My son is 7 years old and has Autism. I want to get him a Labrador. I am a full time student and cannot afford/wait for one of the agencies that trains them. My plan is to get a dog, have him trained (basics) and then find a trainer that can work with him for advanced training. right now my biggest concern is keeping my son from bolting across the street and calming him when he throws a tantrum.

fickla

Experienced Member
I would be very careful in doing this plan. I understand the wait for an autism assist dog is huge, it's over 2yrs at the organization I work for (although many place for free). But keep in mind that there is also a high drop out rate for service dogs and organizations have already weeded out those dogs for you. Plus they will be able to provide you with the support you need in working with the dog and your child as a team.

Service dogs, for any type of work, have to BOMB PROOF. They have to be very relaxed out in public and able to handle all sorts of things. You will be shocked at the number of people who will try and poke your dog in public, kids who run up to it waving bats, all sorts of noises, different floorings, people in costumes, and the list goes on and on. The plain truth is your average pet dog can not handle the stress of going out in public and dealing with crazy crowds.

For an autism dog they not only have to be able to deal with the craziness of those public outings but also be completely calm in the face of an autistic child's tantrums. Many dogs will tolerate children but most dogs WILL get freaked out by little kids running by and screaming, let alone a full blown tantrum.